The Diamond 4 C's: Clarity

When diamonds are created naturally, they can have a variety of characteristics called inclusions and blemishes. The clarity of a diamond (Four C's: Carat, Colour, Cut and Clarity) refers to the absence of these characteristics.

The number of inclusions or blemishes in your diamond will determine how flawless it is. Diamonds that are free from these blemishes are considered rare, and their rarity directly impacts their value.


How Clarity is determined?

The GIA International Diamond Grading System™ is utilised to assign diamonds a clarity grade, ranging from flawless (FL) to diamonds with obvious inclusions (I3). This will affect the transparency and brilliance of the diamond depending on where it sits on the scale. However, unless the clarity sits towards the bottom of the scale (slightly included or included), it would be very hard to notice any inclusions or blemishes without a microscope. 

The GIA Clarity Scale comprises of 11 grades, with the majority of diamonds falling into the VS (very slightly included) or SI (slightly included) categories. When determining a clarity grade, the GIA system takes into account various factors, including the size, nature, position, color or relief, and quantity of clarity characteristics visible under 10× magnification. This meticulous assessment ensures a comprehensive evaluation of a diamond's clarity characteristics.


Diamond Clarity Chart Grades
Image credit: Diamond Buzz


The GIA Clarity Scale provides a comprehensive grading system for diamonds:

  • Flawless (FL): No inclusions or blemishes are visible to a skilled grader using 10× magnification.
  • Internally Flawless (IF): No inclusions, only minor blemishes are visible under 10× magnification.
  • Very, Very Slightly Included (VVS1 and VVS2): Inclusions are challenging for a skilled grader to detect under 10× magnification.
  • Very Slightly Included (VS1 and VS2): Inclusions are minor and can range from difficult to somewhat easy for a skilled grader to observe under 10× magnification.
  • Slightly Included (SI1 and SI2): Inclusions are noticeable to a skilled grader under 10× magnification.
  • Included (I1, I2, and I3): Inclusions are clearly visible under 10× magnification and may impact the diamond's transparency and brilliance.


By considering various factors and carefully examining the diamond's characteristics, the GIA Clarity Scale offers a comprehensive assessment of a diamond's clarity grade.

Layla Kaisi Collection works with exclusively the highest clarity grades preferred by our clients, and ensure that inclusions are not visible from the top down view at any scale. 


Diamond Clarity Scale
Image credit:



How did the Clarity Scale come about?

The GIA Clarity Scale was established as a response to the need for a standardized and universally understood system for grading diamond clarity. Prior to its development, jewelers would often rely on terms like "loupe clean" or "piqué," which were subjective and prone to misinterpretation.

To address this issue and create a consistent grading framework, the GIA introduced the clarity grading system. This system employs internationally recognized terms and codes, such as VVS1 or SI2, which are widely adopted across the diamond industry. Regardless of the geographical location or the language spoken by the jeweler, these standardized terms ensure clear and precise communication about a diamond's clarity characteristics.

As a result, the GIA Clarity Scale has become a global standard, enabling buyers and sellers worldwide to discuss and understand diamond clarity in a consistent and reliable manner, regardless of language or cultural differences.

Diamond Clarity Scale

Image credit: